Meyer Riegger
Menu

Berlin

Meyer Riegger
Schaperstrasse 14
10719 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 315 665 80
+49 30 315 665 81
Opening hours:

Tue – Sat, 11 am – 6 pm

Karlsruhe

Meyer Riegger
Klauprechtstrasse 22
76137 Karlsruhe, Germany
+49 721 821 292
Opening hours:

Tue – Fri, 11 am – 6 pm
Sat, 12 – 3 pm

Basel

Meyer Riegger
Gärtnerstrasse 50
 4057 Basel, Switzerland

History

Located in Berlin, Karlsruhe and Basel the gallery maintains a diverse exhibition program with solo exhibitions of the gallery artists as well as group exhibitions and special projects. The gallery deals in a distinctive combination of painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, video film, performance and installation-based work. The gallery has consistently maintained a very strong focus and commitment to the curatorial aspect of all its exhibitions.

The origins of the gallery date back to 1997 when Jochen Meyer and Thomas Riegger opened their gallery with AND THEN THERE WERE NONE, an exhibition showing pieces from the Marzona Collection. Conceived in reference to a certain era, the exhibition was at the same time a benchmark for the gallery program, in which the gallery has tried to use the political and aesthetic potential of these positions as a link to the present. The focus on conceptual positions that emphasize the emancipatory potential of art as well as underlining the transcendent capacity of their existence, while always remaining aware that art, as a product of human labor, also reflects society’s condition of dependency.

The juxtaposition of international artists from different generations in solo and curated group shows puts these interests into practice. Participation in international art fairs and the opening of a second showroom in Berlin in 2008 has granted the gallery and the artists an international context. Meyer Riegger represents some twenty artists from different generations and has promoted and accompanied many of them from their beginnings. The basic continuity generated by longstanding cooperation with various artists is set off against the ongoing integration of new artistic positions. The gallery’s intention is to focus on the history and future development of art while delving into contemporary issues.

The gallery space in Karlsruhe was reconstructed with the architects Peter W. Schmidt Architekten. The gallery space in Berlin was designed by Johanna Meyer-Grohbrügge.

Staff

Jochen Meyer
Thomas Riegger

Meyer Riegger, Berlin

Elisa Bartling (Registrar)
elisa@meyer-riegger.de

Lincoln Dexter (Artist liaison / Archive)
lincoln@meyer-riegger.de

Constanze Murfitt (Director / Sales)
constanze@meyer-riegger.de

Samuel Nieto (Logistics / Production)
samuel@meyer-riegger.de

Laura Rametti (Artist liaison / Content management)
laura@meyer-riegger.de

Oliver Roura (Art handling / Photographer)
oliver@meyer-riegger.de

Pauline Friesecke
(on maternity leave)

Meyer Riegger, Karlsruhe

Stefan Jeske (Art handling / Production)
stefan@meyer-riegger.de

Johanna Koopmann (Artist liaison / Exhibitions)
johanna@meyer-riegger.de

Lino Santo (Content management / Press)
lino@meyer-riegger.de

Meyer Riegger, Basel

Noemi Pfister
noemi@meyer-riegger.de

info@meyer-riegger.ch

No results